Evolution of a Dog Room

I recently purchased a new house and I am excited to start designing and decorating it!  I am piecing together rooms little by little, however, my mudroom/pantry/dog room came together first.  I have limited space in my kitchen and this mudroom opens right into my fenced in back yard, so I knew I was going to make it a multi functional room.  It already had some built in shelves so I brought in a few more to maximize my storage space.  The walls were a bland “I need to sell my house tan” and the shelves were white.  I won’t lie, it needed a face lift. (Forgive my pictures, they are from my phone)    
I first started with the paint color. Years ago I purchased some black hooks from ikea.  http://m.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/art/60095321/   

These were my inspiration to have all black accents.  I also wanted at least one crazy color in my house so I figured a mud room was the best choice to experiment.  I decided on a bright green for the walls.  The black looked sharp against it and white complimented well enough. I sanded and painted the white shelves black and painted the walls green. 

  
After the paint was dry I began my search for decor.  I purchased two pictures from this shop on etsy several years ago. https://www.etsy.com/shop/PopDoggie I placed them in black frames and hung them with the tail hooks.  

  

  

  

  I purchased a vinyl sticker from this shop on etsy. https://www.etsy.com/transaction/1115899614  It was the perfect size for the open space of wall.  

  I purchased two black floating shelves from Target and decorated them with a picture of my dog, a treat jar, a willow tree figurine and two diy crafts.  

  

  

  

  The hand made sign was made with regular craft paint and left over wall paint for the bone, paw, and heart.  This made the sign match perfectly.  Making my own sign gave me the availability to make it the exact height and width that I needed.   

 I needed one more item for the shelf and I was having trouble figuring out exactly what I wanted.  Then (thanks to some Pinterest posts) I decided upon a framed paw print.  To make this I simply bought heavy craft paper and an ink pad.  I did probably 10 test runs before I was willing to try it on the craft paper, even after that it took three tries to achieve a decent looking print.  I used a fine point sharpie and put Merlin’s name under it.  He was very cooperative and to my knowledge he did not get ink on any of my furniture!   

 I happened across a black and white dog bed on zulily one day and the measurements were perfect for the little opening in the built ins.  I found drawers that were almost a perfect fit at Target.  They did not come in black so I purchased dark brown and painted the drawers to match.   As I filled the drawers with stuff I quickly realized I needed more storage.  I found a cute black fabric basket on Amazon that fit the empty space.  https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01BT1BM96/ref=yo_ii_img?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I put all his chew toys in the basket and it allows him to pick out his favorite toy for the day. 

  

 I knew early on I wanted a fire hydrant of some sort and I came across a hydrant container on Amazon.  https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00BIO6TQG/ref=yo_ii_img?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I sanded, primed, and painted it black and it now is where I store the dog food.  

  
   
I am very happy with the room.  I am still making small changes to the shelving to make storage more efficient and I eventually will add a valence.  I couldn’t be happier with the dog side of things.  I am able to keep all of Merlins things packed away without looking cluttered!   Thanks for reading hope you have a great day! 

 
-Melissa (and Merlin) 

3 thoughts on “Evolution of a Dog Room

Leave a Reply

